John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino have been awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.” The three researchers were recognized for developing the lightweight, hard-wearing batteries that power cell-phones, pacemakers, laptops, and electric cars. Lithium-ion batteries can also store energy from renewable sources, such as solar and wind power, paving the way for a more sustainably powered world.

Learn more in this APS News update.

Sign up to receive weekly email alerts from Physics.