2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

Nobel 2017

A little over two years after the first direct detection of gravitational waves at the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), the Nobel Prize committee has awarded the 2017 physics prize to three leaders of the decades-long project “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.” Read more in this update from APS News.

Image credit: (left) Bryce Vickmark, (center) Caltech, (right) Jon Rou.

Related articles of interest:
Viewpoint: The First Sounds of Merging Black Holes
Focus: LIGO Bags Another Black Hole Merger
Synopsis: LIGO Picks Up on the Third Ring
Collection: Gravitational Waves

Sign up to receive weekly email alerts from Physics.