2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino have been awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.” The three researchers were recognized for developing the lightweight, hard-wearing batteries that power cell-phones, pacemakers, laptops, and electric cars. Lithium-ion batteries can also store energy from renewable sources, such as solar and wind power, paving the way for a more sustainably powered world.

Learn more in this APS News update.

Read more about battery research and applications in this Collection from the Physics archive.

Sign up to receive weekly email alerts from Physics.